Title/Description   Author

Corn Silk Days: Iowa, 1862 by Linda Pendleton

indie ebook cover

Iowa, 1862--

Corn Silk Days is the dramatic story of two families, four generations, during a time when the United States was seriously divided by war, North against South, brother against brother, father against son; a time of upheaval, distress, and death. Adding to the horrific war time events were the struggles within four generations of one family and extended family as they dealt with family secrets, denials, fears, challenges, love, romance, grief, healing, and courage. In the summer of 1862, Iowa farmer, Silas Storm, volunteers for the Union Army and his wife, Elizabeth Jane, pregnant with their second child, must maintain their farm and meet the many challenges the absence of her husband creates.

The wise patriarch, Alexander Storm, Silas' grandfather, struggles to keep the families in a stable condition as best he can, but circumstances, events, and family dynamics, make it nearly impossible to do so. The war not only becomes a life-changing event for Silas and other family on the battlefield, but also for those at home who find their own lives changing drastically while facing adversity. Like Silas Storm, dodging the next Rebel bullet that may pierce the air, they, too, must deal with their fears and transform those fears into courage. The question is: will they be able to do that?

Although the book is a fictional account of life during the Civil War, author Linda Pendleton, has woven actual letters written by her great-great grandfather into her story, staying true to the military facts presented in his letters home to his wife.

"Well Janie, when I heard of the death of Lincoln it appeared to me that I had lost one of my mightiest friends. He was the soldiers' best friend, but he had done enough in this world and the kind hand of Providence called him home to live in peace." ~Silas, May 1865

Buy at Amazon.com
Other Formats...   Get it in paperback

About The Author...

indie author

Linda Pendleton


Linda Pendleton writes fiction and nonfiction. Shattered Lens: Catherine Winter, Private Investigator is first in the Catherine Winter Series, and she recently published the second book in the Catherine Winter Series, Fractured Image: Catherine Winter, Private Investigator. She coauthored the crime novel Roulette: The Search for the Sunrise Killer with her late husband, Don Pendleton; her suspense novel, The Dawning is about a mysterious government agency, UFOs, and the paranormal; and her historical, Corn Silk Days, Iowa, 1862, is now published.

Other Books By Linda Pendleton

indie ebook cover
Fractured Image: Catherine Winte

Crime and Mystery
indie ebook cover
Shattered Lens: Catherine Winter

Crime and Mystery
indie ebook cover
Corn Silk Days: Iowa, 1862

indie ebook cover
Roulette: The Search for the Sun

Crime and Mystery

Latest Stats:

Total Active Books: 7779
Books Added this week: 34
Total Active Authors: 5023
New Authors this week: 78

Sign Up For Our Weekly
Your Email:

NOTE: We hate spam too and will never give out your email to others

Find a Book By Genre...

Animals and Pets | Autobiography | Biography | Business | Children | Comics | Cookbook | 
Crime and Mystery | Environment and Nature | Fan Fiction | Fantasy | Gaming and Puzzles | General | Historical | Home and Garden | Horror | 
How to | Humor | Paranormal | Plays and Anthologies | Poetry | Political | Religion | Romance | SciFi | 
Sports | Suspense and Thriller | Textbook | True Crime | Unspecified | Westerns | Young Adult | 

About Us   Privacy

Copyright© 2019 Achilles Art LLC. All brand names and product names used on this website are trade names, service marks, trademarks, or registered trademarks of their respective owners. Furthermore, no mentioned product or brand endorses this website. indiebooklounge.com is in no way affiliated, sponsored or in any way the property of or responsibility of Google.com. Google®, Amazon®, Amazon.com, Kindle®, Barnes&Noble®, bn.com, PubIt®, Nook®, or smashwords.com other than standard reseller and/or affiliate agreements. Updated 01-19-2016 (Server Version 2.1).

* All information on books presented is the responsibility of the author / submittter to Indie Book Lounge (IBL). IBL is not resonsible for inaccuracies in the title, description, price, links, etc. for books listed. Please direct all inquiries regarding books listed to their respective author.